Original link path: /default.aspx?id=1446&nt=18&lang=2 Open archive
Title: Volos Municipality Portal Descriptive info: Sights.. UNIVERSITY OF THESSALY - PAPASTRATOS COMPLEX.. The former Papastratos tobacco warehouses at the seafront of Volos accommodate two sections of the University of Thessaly and two congress-appointed halls.. Photo: M.. Pornalis.. AGIOS KONSTANTINOS AND ELENI CHURCH.. The church of Agios (St.. ) Konstantinos was built in 1936 having been designed by the architect Aristotle Zahos.. The elaborate architecture combined to its dominant position right at the seafront of Volos make the church a reference point of the modern city.. Photo: L.. Mourtzoukos.. AGIOS KONSTANTINOS PARK.. It is the former King George the1st Square at the seafront of Volos.. Its transformation into a pleasure ground in the 1920s was based on plans by the architect N.. Kitsikis.. NATIONAL BANK OF GREECE.. It was built in 1930 in neoclassic style, a characteristic of the public buildings of the period.. ACHILLION.. The movie theatre Achilleon was built in 1925, designed by the architect K.. Argyris.. It is still being in operation today.. AGIOS NICHOLAOS CHURCH.. The Metropolitan Temple of the city, the first of the three churches designed by Ar.. Zahos in Volos, was completed in 1934.. The old bell tower, made by the Italian sculptor Previsan in 1884, is still standing in the churchyard.. THE SMALL TRAIN OF PELION.. The legendary 'Moutzouris' sets off on its glamorous journeys through Pelion in 1895.. The Italian engineer Evaristo De Chirico had designed the line which was then considered a technological achievement, still being on service today, for trips from Lehonia to the Railway Station of Milees!.. Photo: DIKI archive.. (Municipal Center of Historical Research and Documentation).. VOLOS RAILWAY STATION.. The Railway Station building was built in 1884, according to the aesthetics of foreign architects working for the ... of Volos City Hall with the rest of the architecture of Pelion.. VOLOS SEAFRONT.. GORITSA HILL.. The Goritsa hill stands at the east side of Volos city and it constitutes a slight natural elevation of an altitude of 200 meters.. The chapel of Our Lady, the Life-Containing Fount stands at the top of this hill.. Ancient Macedonians had been using this position since the 4th century BC, during the reign of Filippos the 2nd, building and fortifying a city of 3.. 000- 3.. 500 inhabitants there.. Gates had been constructed northward and eastward controlling traffic of people and goods, westward accessing the sea, and southward, serving army purposes.. The city was built on the Hippodameian system.. This settlement had been inhabited from 350 to 250 BC, abandoned later, when Dimitrios the Besieger ordered the setting of Dimitrias.. This position offers a panoramic view of the city and the harbor of Volos.. THE BIRTH OF VIRGIN MARY, MOTHER OF GOD (Virgin Mary Goritsa Cavern).. This chapel was dedicated to the birthday of Virgin Mary in 1892.. It is inside a cave at the foot of the Goritsa hill and it is one of the most picturesque chapels in our city.. In 1950 a bigger narthex was built in front of the cave.. HOLLY TRINITY.. The Holy Trinity is an Eastern Roman style chapel which stands next to the Achillopouleio Hospital of Volos.. Its construction began in 1948.. It was dedicated on October 1954.. In the inside, there are wall paintings of "Our Lady Broader-than-the-Heavens", "Agioi Anargiroi" "Kosmas and Damianos", etc.. and other icons made by the painter Gounaropoulos.. The screen icons and the wall paintings were painted on expenses of the fellow citizen, industrialist Apostolos Papageorgiou..
Original link path: /default.aspx?id=569&nt=18&lang=2 Open archive
Title: Volos Municipality Portal Descriptive info: Archaeological Sites.. SESKLO.. The prehistoric settlement of Sesklo had developed on the hill of "Kastraki", next to the village of today's Sesklo, about 8 kilometers west of Volos.. The settlement is one of the oldest discovered in Europe; it had been inhabited for the first time during the middle of the 7th millennium.. Excavations at the site discovered a Neolithic settlement, which had been developing in size during the 5th millennium, consisting of small houses and narrow streets that often form circuses or squares.. Photo: archive ΙΓ' EPKA (Prehistoric and Classical Antiquities Conservancy).. The inhabitants had developed a considerable civilization, characterized by written ceramics, an improved pottery technique and extensive use of tools made of stone or obsidian.. Tel: 24210-85960.. Open every day.. Summertime: 8:30 - 15:00 Wintertime: 8:30 - 15:00 closed on Mondays.. Automatic sightseeing tour guide system in Greek and English.. DIMINI.. Neolithic Dimini.. The Neolithic settlement of Dimini sits at the northwestern skirts of today's Dimini, 5 kilometers from Volos.. It had been inhabited at the end of the 5th millennium till the end of the Copper age.. The architectonic ruins spread on the hill give us the idea of an organized Neolithic community, presenting a unique architectonic element: six stone enclosures, built ... Ancient Times, occupies the wide area at the south of Volos bay, opposite to the city of nowadays.. It had been the capital of the Macedonian state for some time having been founded by Demetrios, the Besieger, in 294 BC.. Among the most important buildings found and excavated, the most outstanding are the ancient theatre, the palace, the basilica of Damokrateia and the relics of the roman aqueduct, known as 'the teeth'.. The expanse of Ancient Dimitrias, its monuments and the significance of its position near the modern city of Volos made the creation of an archeological park possible, bringing to prominence and utilizing the archeological site in its whole.. Tel: 24210-88091.. Open: 8:30-14:30 Monday to Friday.. NEA (New) AGHIALOS (FTHIOTIDES THEBES).. Fthiotides Thebes, one of the most significant centers of Early Christian Eastern Roman Thessaly, was developed at the area where today's city of Nea Aghialos spreads out.. The most important findings of the area are extant parts of early Christian churches, chronologically dated around the 5th and 6th centuries AD.. Among the relics of these Early Christian churches and other public buildings and baths of the city, prominent are the splendid mosaics found preserved in rather good condition.. Tel: 24280-76468 24280-77057.. Open every day 7:30-15:00..
Original link path: /default.aspx?id=570&nt=18&lang=2 Open archive
Title: Volos Municipality Portal Descriptive info: Museums.. ATHANASAKIO VOLOS ARCHEOLOGICAL MUSEUM.. The museum, one of the most significant Greek museums of a prototypal layout, a donation by Alexios Athanasakis, was built in1909.. Neolithic findings from the settlements of Sesklo and Dimini are exposed in its rooms, clay figurines, geometric period utensils from the castle of Volos, from Pefkakia, Neapoli and the greater Thessalian territory, classical sculptures, rare.. Photo: Archive ΙΓ'ΕΠΚΑ.. articulated figurines, relieves of the Alexander of Dimitrias period.. Exhibits of exceptional importance are the rare written steles, preserving 3rd century BC elements of Ancient Greek Painting on marble.. For further information, tel: 24210-25285 and 24210-24134.. Open all year 8:00 to 15:00 (closed on Mondays).. THESSALIAN RAILWAY MUSEUM at Volos Railway Station.. The picturesque station by Evaristo De Chirico remains unchanged since 1882, when the construction of the Thessalian Railway Company network gave the development of the city a first boost.. The Railway Museum of Thessaly is accommodated on the first floor of the Railway Station building, an exhibition of heirlooms and rich railway and documentation material.. A unique variety of small items is exhibited at the premises of the museum, as well as rare old photos, uniforms, telegraphs, 19th century wooden booking offices, tools, station clocks, horographs, primitive measuring instruments.. There are archives as well, documents, rare railway architecture books, historical documents and unique designs by Evaristo De Chirico and his associates, aquarelles of extreme beauty, relative to the construction of the picturesque Volos - Lehonia - Milees small train of Pelion railway line.. Tel: 24210-23424 open Monday to Friday, 7:30 to 14:30 on appointment.. ALEKOS K.. DAMTSAS MUSEUM - GIORGIO DE CHIRICO ART CENTER.. The Giorgio De Chirico Art Center was named after the great Italian painter, who was born in Greece.. The permanent exhibition of the Alexandros Damtsas collection is spread on the three floors of the building, consisting of almost five hundred paintings from all the significant schools of our century.. The above-mentioned are divided in categories: maps, engravings, documents about the area, works by Greek engravers and works by artists from Volos, Magnesia and Thessalia.. The biggest part of the donation consists of paintings by Greek painters of the 19th and 20th century.. Photo: L Mourtzoukos.. Visual Arts exhibitions of diverse interest are regularly organized in other rooms of the Art Center.. Volos, 3 Metamorfoseos st.. tel: 24210-31701, open: 10:00 to 13:00, closed on Saturdays and Sundays.. FOLKLORE CENTER KITSOS MAKRIS.. The Kitsos Makris Folklore Center is accommodated at Kistos Makris 38 Street, the folklorist's home; it belongs to the University of Thessalia.. It includes the researcher's folkloric collection with its unique exhibits, his library of 4.. 000 volumes and his archive consisting of 2.. 500 transparencies and 4.. 000 photos of treasures of our tradition not preserved today.. Tel: 24210-37119 Monday to Friday.. Open 8:30 to 12:30, all year.. Sundays 10:00 to 14:00.. Tour guide Mrs.. Makri.. CHRYSOULA ZOGIA MUSEUM and PAINTINGS GALLERY.. The red house at the corner of the streets Vlahava and Gazi, known to the citizens of Volos as the "House with the rose", functions as a museum and a gallery of paintings by the painter Chrysoula Zogia.. It has been set up by the painter herself with great care, a presentation of her work and her character.. There are about 200 of the painter's paintings in the house - museum, portraits of her school years, landscapes, old mansions and interiors of churches, all representative of her course.. The furniture of the house draws the visitors' look, a great lot of the owner's notes found everywhere, photos of her, personal items, hundreds of painted bottles and many other things revealing the specialness of the owner's personality.. At the corner of Vlahava and Gazi streets, Volos.. Open on Sundays 10:00 to 13:00 and on Wednesdays on appointment.. tel: 24210-39644.. TYPOGRAPHICAL MUSEUM OF THESSALIA NEWSPAPER.. The museum of the longest-lived Greek regional newspaper constantly published since 1898, is a unique typographic museum.. A hundred years of everyday history and technology are accommodated in 350 square meters of the newspaper's* establishments at the Volos Industrial Area.. Photo: Thessalia Newspaper Archive.. 19th century Linotypes, pressers, trimmers, press components, composition tables, 40 display windows of historical front pages and the oldest archive in Greece, consisting of more than 1.. 000.. 000 pages.. Volos Industrial Area, tel: 24210-95751 and 24210-95752 (tour only on appointment).. ATHANASIOS KOUTROUBAS ENTOMOLOGICAL MUSEUM.. The Volos entomological museum ... VISUAL ARTS MUSEUM.. The museum is accommodated at the first floor of the community establishment of the important sculptor Nicholas birthplace, great Agios Georgios of Pelion; it consists of some of his most representative works.. Photo: K.. Liapis.. It accommodates 22 of the artist's sculptures, most of which are made of bronze, all full- body, with the exception of the head of Christ, and nine which are in supernatural dimensions.. Mostly interesting are Nicholas' engravings, 13 made on wood, one chalcography and 16 medals.. The visitor can see and handle working tools, designs, forms for engraving as well as hand-written letters and personal items that belonged to the famous sculptor and engraver.. Ai Giorgis Pelion, tel: 24280-93100.. Between 11/5 - 7/11 open 10:00 to17:00, closed on Tuesdays.. Between 8/11-10/5, open every weekend.. LOCAL MUSEUM OF PELION MILEES.. It is accommodated at the first floor of the Milees City hall.. Its exhibits are historical and folkloric evidence of the cultural tradition of the village.. There are big thematic banners at the museum area, containing helpful texts and many photos and objects chosen to provide a more complete picture of the antiquity and the great historic moments of the village as well as of its inhabitants' everyday life.. Milees, City Hall, tel: 24230-86602.. Between 16/9 to 14/6, open 10:00 to14:00 (weekends and holidays open 10:00 to 17:00) Between 15/6 to 15/9, open 10:00 to 14:00 and 18:00 to 21:00 (weekends and holidays open 10:00 to 17:00).. ARCHEOLOGICAL MUSEUM OF ALMYROS.. The Archeological Museum of Almyros is a neoclassical building founded in 1910.. It became operational in 1925.. After going through many adventures, it became operational again having been renovated in 1998.. Its collection consists of findings from a part of Thessaly anciently called Ahaia Fthiotida.. The exhibition of ancient objects is organized in three rooms: the Fthiotides Thebes room (ancient city next to Mikrothebes, which hold the first position among the cities of the area), the prehistoric and iron age room with pots, figurines, tools, weapons, jewelry and small objects.. There are rooms with objects from the Hellenistic city Alos located at the position of contemporary Kefalosi Almyros.. At the right of the museum entrance the precious library The "Othrys" Friends of Antiquity Society of Almyros is located, with its rare books of archeological and historical content.. Archeological Museum of Almyros, 48 Athinon st.. , tel: 2422021326.. Open 8:30 to 15:00, closed on Mondays.. ACHILLEON SEA MUSEUM.. The Municipality of Pteleos founded the Achilleon Sea Museum in 2003 aiming at drawing the public's attention to matters of the sea environment.. Photo: G.. Theodorou.. A collection of shells by Vas.. Stefanou Papastergiou became the core of these collections; the museum is continuously enriched with shells and other exhibits from all over the world.. Achilleon, Municipality of Pteleos, tel: 2422041227, open every day during the summer 10.. 00 to 13.. 00 (closed on Mondays), 14.. 00 to 21.. 00, and.. 00 to 14.. 00 on Tuesdays, Fridays, Saturdays during the winter.. ALEXANDROS PAPADIAMANTIS MUSEUM.. The Alexandros Papadiamantis Museum is the home of the "secular monk" of Hellenic Litterature.. It's one of the oldest traditional houses of the island, at the Skiathos downtown.. Photo: Municipality of Skiathos Archive.. There's an exhibition area on the ground floor, a library serving as an essential acquaintance to the author's work.. The original layout was preserved.. All exhibits, unique heirlooms from Skiathos and objects that belonged to the author reveal to the visitor particular elements of Papadiamantis' life and of Skiathos he had known.. Skiathos, Papadiamantis square, tel: 24270-23843.. Open from May till November.. SKOPELOS MUSEUM OF FOLKLORE.. It is the renovated Nikolaidis mansion at Skopelos town.. Having been built in 1795, it has been a museum of folklore since 1993, a Nikolaidis family donation.. Photo: Municipality of Skopelos archive.. Conspicuous is the collection of traditional costumes of Skopelos and miniature ships of various types made by the great shipbuilder and craftsman Tr.. Boudalas.. Tel: 24240-23494.. Closed on Sundays.. 11:00 to13:00 and 18:00 to 20:00 during the winter.. 10:00 to 14:00 and 18:00 to 23:00 during the summer.. KOSTAS AND AGGELA MAVRIKIS ALONNISOS MUSEUM.. The Kostas and Aggela Mavrikis museum functions in a four storey stone building by the seaside of Patitiri, Alonnisos; there is a rather big exhibition of heirlooms and other objects, matter of the island history and tradition.. Mavrikis.. Tel.. 24240-65390 Open during the summer..
Original link path: /default.aspx?id=576&nt=18&lang=2 Open archive
Title: Volos Municipality Portal Original link path: /default.aspx?id=44294&nt=18&lang=2 (No additional info available in detailed archive for this subpage)
Title: Volos Municipality Portal Descriptive info: Volos – Nees Pagasae.. HOTEL.. CAT.. ROOMS.. BEDS.. AREA.. TELEPHONE.. FAX.. Hotel "Volos Palace".. 4*.. 72.. 119.. Corner Xenofontos Thrakon sts.. , Volos.. 24210-76501.. 24210-76507.. Hotel "Aigli".. 3*.. 87.. 154.. 24 Argonafton st, Volos.. 24210-25691.. 24210-33066.. 24210-24471.. Hotel "Alexander".. 78.. 134.. 3 Topali st.. 24210-31221-4.. 24210-31224.. Hotel "Avra".. 2*.. 47.. 5 Solonos st.. 24210-25370.. Hotel "Elektra".. 38.. 71.. 16 Topali st.. 24210-32671-4.. Hotel "Nefeli".. 53.. 100.. 10 Koumoundourou st.. 24210-30211-3.. 24210-35616.. Hotel "Park".. 225.. 2 Deligiorgi st.. 24210-36511-5.. 24210-28645.. Hotel "Χenia".. 77.. 137.. 1 Plastera st.. 24210-37793-6.. 24210-37790.. Hotel "Admitos".. ... Demetriados st.. 24210-23416.. Hotel "Philippos".. 39.. 73.. 9 Solonos st.. 24210-37607-8.. 24210-39550.. Hotel "Sante".. 67.. 7 Topali st.. 24210-33341-3.. Hotel "Anastasia".. 1*.. Makedonias st.. , Nea Ionia.. 24210-64988.. 24210-85089.. Hotel "Argo".. 43.. 135 Demetriados st.. 24210-25372.. 24210-37680.. Hotel "Jason".. 36.. 1 Pavlou Mela st.. 24210-26075.. 24210-26975.. "Roussas" Guest House.. 1 Iatrou Tzanou st.. 24210-21732.. 24210-.. 22987.. 24210-22987.. Hotel "Adonis".. 42.. Nees Pagasae.. 24210-88015-6.. Hotel "Kalloni".. 64.. 24210-88240-1.. Hotel "Filoxenia".. 34.. 24210-88336.. 24210-88372.. 24210-88053.. 24210-88808.. Hotel "Giouli".. 24210-88273.. Hotel "Gorgona".. 24210-88041.. Hotel "Karagiannis".. 45.. 24210-88282.. Hotel "Stella".. 32.. 24210-88089.. Apartments "Apolavsi".. 24210-88298..
Original link path: /default.aspx?id=1470&nt=18&lang=2 Open archive